It was all jubilation and celebration at St. Paul’s Cathedral Namirembe on Sunday 1, March 2029, where more than 5,000 people attended the colorful ceremony of installing the 9th Archbishop of the Church of Uganda.

In his sermon, The Most Rev. Dr. Foley Beach, Chairman of the GAFCON Primates’ Council and Archbishop of the Anglican Church in North America noted that the first thing the risen Lord Jesus did was to commission his disciples by saying, “As the Father has sent me, so I am sending you.”

Preaching from John 20:19-31, Archbishop Beach said that Jesus came to us, in Incarnate Love, Servant Love, Sacrificial Love, and Steadfast Love. He concluded that Jesus is commissioning Archbishop Kaziimba – and all Christian leaders; in the same way. As the Father sent Jesus, so Jesus is sending the new Archbishop in this new ministry.

The President of the Republic of Uganda, Yoweri Kaguta Museveni, commended the Church of Uganda for its growing infrastructure, especially the Janani Luwum Church House. He appreciated the uniqueness of Christianity over African Traditional Religion through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead and the hope of resurrection for those who trust in Jesus Christ. He also explained that the unconditional forgiveness through Jesus’ death and resurrection is better for Africa than the cycle of revenge that is so much a part of African Traditional Religion.

In his Charge, the new Archbishop laid out the priorities for his term as spiritual leader for the Church of Uganda. Quoting from Jeremiah 17.9-10, he called for a full conversion of head, heart, and hands. He committed himself to fulfilling Vision 2025, the Church of Uganda’s strategic plan whose mission is “to proclaim the Gospel in accordance with Christ’s commission to make disciples of all nations.” “When we do this,” he said, “then I believe we will see our vision fulfilled. We will see the Church of Uganda become “a faster growing sustainable Christ-centred church.” He said he would emphasize Marriage in God’s Way, mentoring boys as well as girls, and launching a Church of Uganda TV station.

The Dean of the Province, the Rt. Rev. Jackson Nzerebende of South Rwenzori Diocese, presided over the service of enthronement, per the Constitution and Canons of the Church of Uganda. The Rt. Rev. Henry Luke Orombi, 7th Archbishop of the Church of Uganda, was also present.

Ten Archbishops (Primates) from other Provinces in the Anglican Communion were also present – Burundi, Brazil, Congo, England, Kenya, Nigeria, Rwanda, South Sudan, North America, Tanzania – along with other Anglican Bishops from Kenya, Congo, Rwanda, Tanzania, Burundi, South Africa, Australia, United States of America, and England.

On behalf of the President, the Speaker of Parliament, the Rt. Hon. Rebecca Kadaga, launched Archbishop Kaziimba’s new book and also presented him with a new car to facilitate his extensive pastoral ministry in the country.

The Rt. Rev. Stephen Samuel Kaziimba Mugalu was elected the 9th Archbishop of the Church of Uganda during a meeting of the House of Bishops on 28th August. Bishop Kaziimba was consecrated Bishop on 26th October 2008 and served as the Bishop of Mityana Diocese for eleven years.

The retiring Archbishop, the Most Rev. Stanley Ntagali, has served as the 8th Archbishop of the Church of Uganda since his enthronement on 16th December 2012. He has served with distinction for more than seven years; consecrated 23 new Bishops and launched three new Dioceses. It is under his leadership that Church House was finished and dedicated to the glory of God.

The previous Archbishops of the Church of Uganda have been the following:
1st Archbishop Leslie Brown, a British missionary, was the first Archbishop of Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, and Boga-Zaire (1961-1966)
2nd Archbishop Erica Sabiti (1966 – 1974)
3rd Archbishop Janani Luwum (1974 – 1977). Martyred in 1977.
4th Archbishop Silvanus Wani (1977 – 1983). In 1980, Rwanda, Burundi, and Boga-Zaire became a separate, Francophone Province, and Uganda became its own Province.
5th Archbishop Yona Okoth (1983 – 1995)
6th Archbishop Livingstone Mpalanyi-Nkoyoyo (1995 – 2004)
7th Archbishop Henry Luke Orombi (2004 – 2012)8th Archbishop Stanley Ntagali (2012 – 2020)